Back at Seven is a young rock-band from West-Brabant, the Netherlands. This band was founded in 2010 and contains 3 guys and just one girl. I asked them some spicy questions. Introducing… Back at Seven.

Daan Rijnders (19, lead guitar/backing vocals), Angelo Pertijs (17, bass guitar) Marc van Dongen (18, drums) and of course Denise de Wolff (19, lead vocals/guitar). In 2010, Back at Seven was searching for a new male lead singer, but surprisingly ended up with Denise. This band made a huge change and nowadays they make energetic alternative indierock music.These 4 young artists call themselves Back at Seven. But what is their background? I asked the band’s sexiest couple Daan and Denise some questions to get to know more of them !

By whom are you inspired as individuals? Daan: “Jack White! Many guitar players would say Jimi Hendrix or Stevie Ray Vaugn, but I like the creativity of Jack White. His songs really contain a story.” Denise: “I love Alisson Mossheart, singer of The Dead Weather and The Kills. She is just so creative, but also a little bit creepy and dark, but that’s what I like. It is actually pretty cool, because Alisson and Jack are in a band together. My favourite singer though is Robert Plant of Led Zeppelin, I love his sexual lyrics. Daan: ” haha, yes I know why ! we actually had sex once while playing the album Led Zepplin IV.”

Do you write your songs on a specific theme? Denise: “Yes in fact we do.. You wouldn’t say when you hear the roughness of the music itself, but our songs tell the negative sides of love. I got dumped by my boyfriend in september, one month later I joined back at seven and I got into a difficult, but amazing relationship with Daan. Those emotions helped me to write songs. You can see it in the lyrics of our song “No One” Daan and I first kept our relationship secret for the big world outside because of our bandmembers, in the song I explain how hard that time was. Now Angelo and Marc know about our relationship and surprisingly they love the fact we are together.” Daan: “We are also trying to base our songs on the same keynotes. Every song has his own strong element, but match perfectly together.”

What does success mean to you? Daan: “Well, playing at the Melkweg or 013 would be nice! You’ll never know what happens in the future.. We are still young, so we are looking forward to any moment of success. Denise: “We aren’t very demanding, but we do have a dream. We would like to have our own album and fan base in the future. It seems nice to me when your audience knows and feels your songs. It is funny you asked though, because I sometimes catch people on singing along with me, while I do not even know the lyrics myself to all songs, pretty hilarious actually! ” 

Frank Jaquot